2.5 horse powers

What’s your travel camera?

I don’t know what it is about this camera. But when we took our motorbikes and went to our trip to Ukraine, it was no question which camera I would pick. It would not be the Nikon point and shoot or DSLR. It had to be a Leica. Somehow, it just felt appropriate to take a rugged camera to a trip that might end up being an adventure

It took a while to decide between the M9 and the M6. But then I remembered the trip to Romania two years earlier. I remembered how the scenery and people made us feel as if we travelled back in time. And at this moment, it was clear, it had to be film and it had to be black and white.

2.5 horse powers

And so my M6 spent 10 days in the little bag on the tank of my bike, on gravel roads, through pot holes and little rivers and it survived every time my driving skills were no longer matching the difficulties of the track and my bike ended up laying in the dirt. And when I hit a pot hole so hard my front wheel broke, I doubt the camera even noticed.

2012-06 Ukraine (143)
(Photo by Toni Schnydrig)

My apologies for not taking more good pictures. I was new to film and I screwed up now and then. And I was also too busy driving the bike and having fun. I promise to do better next time I’m there. Which will be next year….

Scan-121216-0005-Edit

Scan-121216-0007

Scan-121216-0016-Edit

So what about you? Do you have a favorite travel camera? And if so… what is it?

9 thoughts on “What’s your travel camera?”

    1. Thanks Marks🙂

      I didn’t manage to capture any of the characteristics of the Ukraine trip, roads and people. But hey, I’ll be back so the camera and I will get a second chance to do it right

  1. Agree with Marks, very nice post! I think you made a great choice with your M6 and black and white film, your images are wonderful! I don’t do much travel unfortunately, but I have a very hard time choosing just one…..
    You know, what if? ……… 😉

  2. Great post! We have the same equipment. I have been travelling with my GS in 2009 to the eastern part of Europe. The M6 came in 2011. Anyway, i like your pictures. Keep on working with film even if it is more demanding.

  3. you have a nice bike and nice camera too.
    I use an R1200S to travel and Panasonic DMZ-TC 18 in the Pocket. The Nikon v1 travels in the suitcase.

    I like you blog

    cu

    HG

      1. Most of the time I travel across my country and I can say that I know Spain almost complete.
        Sometimes I drive into nearest countries, Portugal and France.
        But my dream is travelling to the Isle of Man to see the TT.
        Maybe I can do it in few years, when my little girl grow 🙂

Leave a Reply

