The snail that was too fast for me

I don’t know if you have read Michael Ende’s Neverending Story (Die unendliche Geschichte). One of the characters in the book is a so called racing snail. Which is basically a really really fast huge snail.

I’ve always thought, these snails are just fiction, something Michael made up as it is good fun to imagine a snail that’s faster than a racing horse. Well, until I met one of it’s smaller siblings yesterday on my way to work.

It was a beauty, lit by morning light. I lifted my camera, had the autofocus to lock on the eyes and just when I pressed the shutter it – moved. So now you know why the eyes are out of focus.

Or I’m just too stupid to operate autofocus correctly, you decide 🙂

Race Snail

Oh, and if you have not read the book, I really highly recommend it!

4 thoughts on “The snail that was too fast for me”

Leave a comment