one of the most beautiful places on earth...

A journey around Kyrgyzstan

So just in case you wonder why the blog has been a bit quiet in the past weeks, let me tell you. And if you don’t wonder, well, I’ll tell you anyways.

I’ve been on a motor bike ride. Not a normal one by any means. It was in a far away land in central Asia to a country crossed by the old silk road from China to Europe. It was also the first organized bike travel, as for the last 27 years it was, with one exception always on my own bike I travelled, organized either by myself or with the same one or two friends.

So let me list the things I did the first time on this journey:

  • It was a trip on a dirt bike with no luggage on the bike as we had a Jeep (Toyota Landcruiser) coming with us
  • it was almost exclusively on dirt roads
  • it wasn’t a man only journey as one of my friend’s wife and and another female friend came along with us
  • it was some of the most primitive lodging I experienced outside military service. But unlike back then, I didn’t mind at all
  • First time in Asia, in Kyrgyzstan, central Asia

It was a beautiful, adventurous, exciting, exhausting, thrilling and a few times painful experience. We travelled pretty much around Kyrgyzstan, 2’400 km, over 43’000m of elevation change, through a truly breathtaking landscape and and with incredibly friendly people who showed us great hospitality. And it was probably is the best road trip I’ve ever done – so far😉

So, on the next couple of days, I will post a series of posts, describing some of the defining aspects of the journey. I hope you’ll enjoy the ride :)

Chapters:

Food of Kyrgystan

Lodging in Kyrgyzstan

Dust of Kyrgyzstan

People of Kyrgystan

At the Bazar

Landscape of Kyrgyzstan

Traveling Kyrgyzstan with Muztoo

Pride in his profession
Pride in his profession

one of the most beautiful places on earth...
one of the most beautiful places on earth…
In the third day, I lost my fear of gravel roads and started to enjoy the bends :)
On the third day, I lost my fear of gravel roads and started to enjoy the bends🙂
Horserider - you see them everywhere on the coutnryside, proud people on small mongol horses
Horserider – you see them everywhere on the countryside, proud people on small mongol horses
Endless horizon and no people in sight for hours
Endless horizon and no people in sight for hours

One thought on “A journey around Kyrgyzstan”

Leave a Reply

