DSCF6161-Edit-Edit-2

Looking back at 2014, the year that inspired again

So, another year is over. And to celebrate the arrival of the new year, I sit in the Starbucks I wrote the majority of the blog posts at, have some English breakfast tea and think about the year that is not fading into a distant memory.

It was a bit of a weird year from a photography point of view. A year my photography lost it’s inspiration and then found it again. I guess most of us know that feeling. Looking at the camera but not going out and shoot. Or leave the house and just not seeing a thing that makes you lift the camera and press the shutter. And if you do, you come back home, look a the shots and think – meh.

Prime example is the trip to England I did in May. As much as I enjoyed the trip and Cornwall, I felt uninspired. Didn’t know what I wanted to shoot. Shots I had taken, thinking they would look great turned out mediocre. They lacked fire, passion. Just look at this one. It’s a nice shot but that’s all. It’s just nice.

Salisburry, a little town in England, where you will find one copy of the Magna Carta
Salisburry, a little town in England, where you will find one copy of the Magna Carta

Came Summer and it got even worse. I even let the house without camera on numerous times. It’s kinda natural that the only shots that were a bit inspired were shot in my apartment, watching birds. Thank you Capt’n Sparrow🙂

Capt'n Jack, watching over his family and making sure the coast is clear
Capt’n Jack, watching over his family and making sure the coast is clear

Came Fall and with Fall the trip to Kyrgyzstan. It’s probably pretty obvious I loved it. It was a great adventure, a complete new, different world I experienced with good friends. And how could I not take pictures there? Back home I looked at them, worked with them and realized how much i love to do this. Take pictures and share them with the world, with you.

It's just incredible, how much dust one single motorbike can create!
It’s just incredible, how much dust one single car can create!

So, back home, after having worked on the photos, I started to think about where to go next, what to do to make sure I don’t loose that spark of inspiration. I looked at my photos, had a look at what felt right, what was fun and decided to concentrate on Black and White photography. So, for 2015, the only color photos i will take will be on the motorbike trip with by buddies. Everything else will be in 50 … ahm… lots of beautiful shades of grey.

I hope you will come along and like what I explore here🙂

And with that – happy new year!

May the new year be full of joy and celebrations!
May the new year be full of joy and celebrations!

4 thoughts on “Looking back at 2014, the year that inspired again”

  1. Das Wesen der Inspiration; flüchtig wie der Wind. Sie zeigt sich ebenso in der Bewegung des Vorhanges an deinem Fenster, der durch einen Windhauch leise gebläht wird, wie im Tosen der Wellen, die ein Sturm über den See vor deiner Wohnung treibt. Sie lässt sich nicht festhalten, nur erleben.
    Ich wünsch dir ein inspirierendes Fotojahr und freu mich auf unendlich viele Graustufen:-)

Leave a Reply

